Dr. Washington Burns, Anna Halprin, Sylvia Rosales-Fike, and East Bay Asian Local Development Corporation Awardees

(SAN FRANCISCO) – Wednesday, September 22, 2010 – The San Francisco Foundation announced today its 2010 Community Leadership Award winners: Dr. Washington Burns, Anna Halprin, Sylvia Rosales-Fike, and East Bay Asian Local Development Corporation. The awardees will be honored for their outstanding contributions to the Bay Area community at the Awards Celebration on Tuesday, September 28, 2010, at the Herbst Theatre, in the War Memorial Veterans Building in San Francisco. The three individual winners will receive $10,000 each, and the organizational winner $20,000. During this celebration, the Koshland Young Leader Awards will also be presented, recognizing seven outstanding San Francisco public high school students with an award of $7,000 each.


Dr. Washington Burns, executive director of the Prescott-Joseph Center for Community Enhancement – For working tirelessly to meet the needs and better the lives of West Oakland residents. A retired pathologist, Dr. Burns is at the heart of PJCCE’s health and human services, education, literacy, arts, and cultural programs for residents of all ages. A trusted community organizer and partner, he inspires others to narrow disparities in health and social services access and to strengthen their own community.

Anna Halprin, choreographer – For pioneering the post-modern dance movement. For more than 60 years, she has been a seminal force in dance and music and has developed and performed dances that teach, inspire, heal, and transform. Her creativity and experimentation break the walls between art and life, creating opportunities for generations of artists.

Sylvia Rosales-Fike, founder, president, and chief executive officer of AnewAmerica Community Corporation – For spearheading social and economic development opportunities and policies that empower immigrants and strengthen their essential place in our society. Her innovative, passionate, and collaborative spirit enables immigrants to bring their own families out of poverty, through organizations she founded or led, including CARECEN Washington D.C., Community Bank of the Bay, and AnewAmerica. She was the creator of the No Human Being is Illegal campaign.

East Bay Asian Local Development Corporation – For transforming neighborhoods by creating new economic opportunities for low-income communities. Its innovative projects weave together housing, economic development, and historic preservation, reaching deep into the diverse communities it serves.

Koshland Young Leader Awards:

  • Oscar Alfredo Figueroa-Flores, June Jordan School for Equity
  • Emalata Paea, June Jordan School for Equity
  • Noe Rivas, Mission High School
  • Moneace Smith, June Jordan School for Equity
  • Ana Gabriela Avalos Tizol, Mission High School
  • Fany Chan Xu, Galileo High School
  • Weichao (Steven) Zhuo, Mission High School

Awards Celebration:

Please join us for an evening of inspiration, fun, and food at The San Francisco Foundation 2010 Community Leadership Awards Celebration.

Tuesday, September 28, 2010
6:30 p.m. – 8:30 p.m.
Ceremony begins promptly at 6:30 p.m., followed by a reception at 7:30 p.m.

Herbst Theatre
San Francisco War Memorial Veterans Building
401 Van Ness Avenue, San Francisco

Online at www.sff.org/cla2010 or call 415.733.8577

About The San Francisco Foundation Community Leadership Awards:
We celebrate people who are rolling up their sleeves, taking initiative, and solving problems in their neighborhoods and communities. The San Francisco Foundation Community Leadership Awards recognize individuals and organizations whose leadership has made a significant impact in their particular Bay Area communities. This work may confront societal or civic issues, address health or environmental concerns, or promote arts and humanities.

The Community Leadership Awards showcase individual or organizational excellence in leadership as demonstrated by outstanding initiative, impact of work, and inspiration of others. With each award, The San Francisco Foundation publicly affirms present achievements, seeks to encourage further work on the part of the recipients, and hopes to motivate others to follow their lead in service to Bay Area communities.

About the Koshland Young Leader Awards:
The Koshland Young Leader Awards recognize the next generation of leadership in our community. These impressive high school seniors from San Francisco public schools are strongly motivated to achieve in spite of the added challenge of responsibilities to their families. The San Francisco Foundation applauds the Koshland Young Leader Awardees for their commitment to achieving their goals, succeeding academically, and pursuing their career ambitions. The students are nominated by their teachers and counselors during their junior year for this $7,000 award.