CLA 2014 Logo




For over 60 years, The San Francisco Foundation has recognized inspiring Bay Area leaders through our Community Leadership Awards. Past winners have included Michael Franti, Van Jones, Carlos Santana, Alice Waters, and a slew of other local leaders. Our nomination process is currently underway and awardees will be announced in the fall. But there’s more that you can do to take part! This year, we’ve joined forces with 7×7 to present the Hot 20 Comunity Choice Award. We need your help to pick a winner!

Hot 20 Full Banner

The winner with the most votes will be featured in an advertorial spread in 7×7‘s Hot 20 Issue and their organization will receive a $20,000 award from The San Francisco Foundation. So, check out your top 20 finalists, get inspired, and then VOTE!

With the Community Leadership Awards, we showcase individual or organizational excellence in leadership as demonstrated by outstanding initiative, impact of work, and inspiration to others. We publicly affirm present achievements, seek to encourage further work on the part of the recipients, and hope to motivate others to follow their lead in service to Bay Area communities. Watch videos about the incredible lives and impact that our Community Leadership Awardees are having throughout our region.

Award Package
Awards are $10,000 for individuals and $20,000 awards for organizations.

Please contact Tolu Lawrence at with additional questions.

Nomination Process

Nominations are vetted by Foundation staff and the Awards Committee, a panel of community leaders from throughout the Bay Area, which reviews nominees and recommends finalists to the Board of Trustees, which selects the winners. Winners are notified in the fall.


Please see our FAQs or contact

Past Community Leadership Award Winners

The 2013 Community Leadership Awardees

The 2012 Community Leadership Awardees

The 2011 Community Leadership Awardees

The 2010 Community Leadership Awardees

The 2009 Community Leadership Awardees

The 2008 Community Leadership Awardees

2007 & Earlier Awardees