Community Leadership Awards Committee

The Community Leadership Awards Committee is a group of demonstrated leaders in the Bay Area who display an understanding of nonprofit sector work and community-based issues. The Committee annually reviews nominees and recommends winners of the Community Leadership Awards to the Board of Trustees. Committee members are selected to represent the diversity of the Bay Area in race, gender, sector of work, and geography; they serve up to two three-year terms. To fill openings on the Committee, current members recommend candidates and the Board of Trustees appoints new members.

2017 Awards Selection Committee

Abdi Soltani, Trustee Liaison
Cedric Brown
Belva Davis
Lokelani Devone
Carolina Echeverria
Eugene Rodriguez
Keith McWilliams

The Trustees, staff, Awards Committee members, and their immediate families are not eligible to receive Community Leadership Awards from The San Francisco Foundation.

About the Community Leadership Awards

The Community Leadership Awards recognize individual or organizational excellence in leadership as demonstrated by outstanding initiative, impact of work, and inspiration of others. Community Leadership Awards recognize significant contributions to improving the quality of life of the Bay Area. This work may confront social problems, address environmental concerns, or promote arts and humanities.

Each year their peers nominate outstanding individuals and groups, and a panel of Bay Area community leaders selects the Award winners. Up to four Community Leadership Awards are made per year. Individuals receive $10,000 awards and organizations are awarded $20,000. Individuals and nonprofit organizations in Alameda, Contra Costa, Marin, San Francisco, and San Mateo Counties are eligible.