Art Awards

Art Awards

The foundation is proud to bestow a variety of awards in literature, visual arts, film/video and playwriting each year that help foster innovation and individual artistic growth within our community.

Community Leadership Award

The Community Leadership Award for art acknowledges under-recognized artists for their significant contributions to the Bay Area.

Literary Awards

The distinguished Joseph Henry Jackson and Mary Tanenbaum Literary Awards offer $2,000 to each qualifying literary artist for their outstanding work based on the submission of an unpublished manuscript in-progress. Applicants are selected by nomination only. Submissions may be in any one of the following literary forms: fiction (novel or short stories), nonfiction prose, poetry and spoken word.

Murphy and Cadogan Contemporary Art Awards

The Jack K. and Gertrude Murphy Fellowships and the Edwin Anthony and Adalaine Boudreaux Cadogan Scholarships help fuel the forward-thinking visual arts movement that makes the Bay Area unique. These awards were established in 1986 and are designed to further the development of Bay Area master of fine arts students and to foster the exploration of their artistic potential in digital art, film/video, hybrid (multi-disciplinary) practice, installation, mixed media, painting, photography and sculpture. The winner of the Murphy Award receives a cash award, and winners of the Cadogan Scholarships receive tuition assistance. Murphy Award winners and Cadogen Scholarship recipients will in a professionally curated exhibition at SOMArts Cultural Center and will be encouraged to facilitate workshops held by SOMArts during the duration of the exhibition.

Rella Lossy Playwright Award

The Rella Lossy Playwright Award honors the memory of the late Rella Lossy, a lifelong lover and champion of the American theater and playwriting. The annual award goes to one emerging playwright and his or her world premiere play. Half of the $5,000 award covers production costs of the play and the other half is given to the playwright. The San Francisco Foundation does not administer this award. Interested applicants may apply to the award through Theater Bay Area here.