Literary Awards

Literary Awards

San Francisco Foundation/Nomadic Press Literary Award

The SFF/Nomadic Press Literary Award offers 20 winning writers $5,000 per recipient. 2021 is the inaugural award year and submissions for outstanding work in poetry, fiction, and non-fiction are now open as of February 15, 2021 and ends March 15, 2021.

The San Francisco Foundation does not administer the award. For interested applicants and information about award submission guidelines and eligibility, visit Nomadic Press.

About Our Donor: Joseph Henry Jackson

Joseph Henry Jackson (1894-1955) moved to California after World War I and was editor of Sunset Magazine from 1926-28. From 1924-1943 he hosted the radio program “Bookman’s Guide,” and from 1930 through the remainder of his career, he served as the literary editor of the San Francisco Chronicle, where he gained national prominence. Jackson also wrote and edited over a dozen books, many concerning California history. He served on several literary boards, including the O. Henry Memorial Award, the Harper Prize Novel and the Pulitzer Prize. Jackson was always interested in discovering and encouraging new writers. In his honor, his friends established the Joseph Henry Jackson Literary Award for emerging writers in the Bay Area.