Murphy Award and Cadogan Scholarships

Murphy Award and Cadogan Scholarships

The Jack K. and Gertrude Murphy Award and the Edwin Anthony and Adalaine Boudreaux Cadogan Scholarships help fuel the forward-thinking visual arts movement that makes the Bay Area unique. These awards were established in 1986 and are designed to further the development of Bay Area master of fine arts students and to foster the exploration of their artistic potential. The winner of the Murphy Award receives $40,000, and winners of the Cadogan Scholarships receive $6,500 each. Each winner has their work displayed in a professionally curated exhibition at SOMArts Cultural Center.

Applications are due by 5:00 p.m. PST on April 26, 2019.
Deadline has been extended to Sunday, May 5th, 11:59 p.m. PST.

Application Guidelines
  • The Murphy Award and Cadogan Scholarships are available to Bay Area MFA (not MA) students to underwrite tuition for their continued academic study. These awards assist students enrolled in a MFA program to develop and explore their artistic potential in painting, sculpture, hybrid practice, installation art, mixed media, drawing and photography.
  • Students must have completed at least one semester of graduate study as of January 31, 2019, be continuously enrolled in the same program and be in good standing through December 31, 2019. Award recipients may be required to provide proof of continuing school enrollment through December 31, 2019.
  • Previous winners of Murphy or Cadogan awards are not eligible to apply.
  • There is no application fee.

Work Sample Requirements

  • Recent work: We will only accept artwork samples that were completed in 2017, 2018, or 2019. Work must be created solely by the applicant; collaborations are not accepted. All work samples must be uploaded with your application to be considered for the award.
  • Submission formats: All samples must be uploaded through the online application in the form of JPGs or PDFs. Applicants may submit a total of 10 images, numbered in the order they want the work reviewed.
    • Each image should be saved with the following naming convention: viewing order, and the artist’s name (e.g. “01Evans, 02Evans, etc.”).
    • Individual images should be 1MB or less in size. If submitting multiple images, please limit to one image per page/slide. Multiple images per page/slide are NOT allowed.
    • For a combination of still images with audio or video, 1 minute of time-based media is equal to 2 images (e.g. you can submit 2 minutes of audio and 6 images, 3 minutes of audio and 4 images, etc.), not to exceed a total of 5 minutes of time-based media.
    • Work samples can include performance aspects of movement and/or interaction if artists’ practice encompasses this. Applicants can clarify this relationship within the one sentence (50 words or fewer) description accompanying the particular work sample.
  • Work sample list: Applicants must upload a one-page PDF document with a numbered work sample list. This document should indicate the following for each work submitted:
    • Name of saved image (e.g. “01Evans, 02Evans, etc.”)
    • Title of work (if any)
    • Medium
    • Size (width/height/depth)
    • Date of completion
  • Applications are due Friday, Sunday, May 5th, 11:59 p.m. PST.
Award Decisions, Notification, and Payment
  • Submissions will be judged by a panel of art professionals. The jurors’ decisions will be based solely on merit and are final.
  • Awardees will be notified in June 2019.
  • Please note that award funds are sent directly to the financial aid office and credited to the students’ financial aid package. UC Berkeley and Stanford students: The funds will be sent directly to you. You must fill out a W9 form and are responsible for working with your accountant in reporting the funds on your taxes.

We will be hosting workshops led by Murphy and Cadogan Award recipients on Saturday, September 28, 2019 from 1:00-4:00 p.m. We will share more information with awardees in June.

Questions? Please email Melanie Jimenez at mjimenez[at]


Gertrude Murphy was a San Francisco-based sculptor. She was a recipient of numerous art awards and exhibited her work at the deYoung Museum and the San Francisco Museum of Modern Art. Her husband, Jack K. Murphy, was a civic leader who served as president of the Jackson Square Association.

Edwin Anthony and Adalaine Boudreaux Cadogan met while attending the San Francisco Art Institute and later were both active members of the Marin Society of Artists. Adalaine devoted herself to painting and sculpture and Edwin worked primarily in oil painting and stoneware pottery. He was an alumnus of Berkeley High School and served as the head the art department at College of Marin, where Cadogan Hall is named in his honor. Adalaine and Edwin both experienced financial difficulties while in art school and understood the great impact scholarships could make during this early phase in an artist’s career. The Cadogans never had children, but in a handwritten letter to the foundation, Adalaine wrote that she wished for the “art students of the future to be our children.”

2018 Awardees and Exhibiting Artists
Cadogan Scholarships

Michelle Bonilla Garcia, California College of the Arts
Sophia Cook, San Francisco Art Institute
Ben Cornish, San Francisco Art Institute
Ricki Dwyer, UC Berkeley
Preston Fox, California College of the Arts
Heesoo Kwon, UC Berkeley
Vincent Miranda, California College of the Arts
Miguel Monroy Melgoza, Stanford University
Sarah Player Morrison, Mills College
Judit Navratil, California College of the Arts
Claire Rabkin, Mills College
Joanna Ruckman-Gallegos, San Francisco Art Institute
Sally Scopa, Stanford University
Daniel Southard, San Francisco State University
Tashi Wangdhu, Mills College
Livien Yin, Stanford University

Murphy Award

Shirin Khalatbari
Michelle Bonilla Garcia
Sarah Player Morrison
Livien Yin