Koshland Young Leader Awards

Koshland Young Leader Awards

In 1999, Dr. Daniel Koshland Jr., the son of our foundation’s founding chairman, established the Koshland Youth Leadership Awards (KYLA), a scholarship program that recognizes young leaders who balance extraordinary challenges, including family separation and homelessness, yet continue to show academic promise and community leadership.

To date, the awards have given nearly $1M to more than 100 young leaders to give them a jump start as they enter college. KYLA alumni, such as 2012 recipient Edith Melendez, have pursued college degrees and continue their community involvement. Melendez graduation from UC Davis in 2017 and now works as an Instructional Aid assisting recent immigrants. “I am absolutely thrilled to have the opportunity to work and give back to my San Francisco international community,” she says.

Each year, the Koshland Young Leader Awards provide $10,000 each to up to 11 outstanding San Francisco public high school juniors from low-income families.


The 2019 nomination process has ended. Please check this page in December 2019 for information regarding the 2020 awards program. If you have any questions, contact Amanda Katz at akatz[at]sff.org or (415) 733-8593.

2019 KYLA Winners
Crystal Chan Lowell High School
Osman Enriquez Samayoa Mission High School
Aziza Ghanem San Francisco International High School
Hanthlah Kassim San Francisco International High School
Mansa Kuang Lowell High School
Alex Ocampo Mission High School
Karol Peña San Francisco International High School
Javier Romero Thurgood Marshall Academic High School
Nicole Salazar Ramos Mission High School
James Sevilla San Francisco International High School
Ashley Soto June Jordan School for Equity