Literary Awards

Literary Awards

San Francisco Foundation/Nomadic Press Literary Award

The SFF/Nomadic Press Literary Awards offer 10 winning writers $5,000 per recipient for outstanding work in poetry, fiction, and non-fiction. In its inaugural year in 2021, 20 writers were awarded $5,000 each. See past awardees section below. Submissions for the 2022 Literary Awards have closed.

Congratulations to all of the 2022 SFF/Nomadic Press Literary Awards Winners! 
  • Reggie Edmonds is a poet, educator, and organizer based out of Oakland, CA by way of Richmond.
  • Carolyn Ho is a Vietnamese American poet, artist, mother.
  • Rick D’Elia is a writer, teacher and filmmaker.
  • Anesha Grant is a dedicated educator in the nonprofit sector.
  • Jenny Qi is the author of Focal Point, winner of the 2020 Steel Toe Books Poetry Award.
  • Dawn Angelicca Barcelona (she/her) is a Filipina-American poet and recruiter based in San Francisco, originally from NJ.
  • t. johnston is currently a student pursuing an masters of fine arts degree in creative writing.
  • Lydia Kim is a Korean American writer from the Central Valley now based in the Bay Area.
  • Olivia Peña is a Black-Salvadoran writer and storyteller from the Mission District of San Francisco.
  • Gabrielle Corona was born and raised in East Las Vegas, Nevada.

Read more about the winners of this year’s awards at Nomadic Press.

Check back in at the end of this year for information about next year’s awards. San Francisco Foundation does not administer the award. 

Past Awardees

Josiah Luis Alderete
Mae Ramirez
Lourdes Figueroa
Alan Chazaro
Camilo Garzón
Karla Clark
Leticia Hernández-Linares
MK Chavez
Cynthia Parker-Ohene
Susana Praver-Pérez

Maya Sisneros
Lillian Giles
Dominica Phetteplace
Daniel Pearce
Zora Mai Quỳnh
Suzanne Rivecca
Devon Devine
Ngozi Oparah

Janine Kovac
Ellie Bozmarova

About Our Donor: Joseph Henry Jackson

Joseph Henry Jackson (1894-1955) moved to California after World War I and was editor of Sunset Magazine from 1926-28. From 1924-1943 he hosted the radio program “Bookman’s Guide,” and from 1930 through the remainder of his career, he served as the literary editor of the San Francisco Chronicle, where he gained national prominence. Jackson also wrote and edited over a dozen books, many concerning California history. He served on several literary boards, including the O. Henry Memorial Award, the Harper Prize Novel and the Pulitzer Prize. Jackson was always interested in discovering and encouraging new writers. In his honor, his friends established the Joseph Henry Jackson Literary Award for emerging writers in the Bay Area.