Literary Awards

Literary Awards

San Francisco Foundation/Nomadic Press Literary Award

The SFF/Nomadic Press Literary Awards offer 10 winning writers $5,000 per recipient for outstanding work in poetry, fiction, and non-fiction. In its inaugural year in 2021, 20 writers were awarded $5,000 each. See the past awardees section below.

The 2023 SFF/Nomadic Press Literary Awards is now inviting invitations for the awards starting February 15, 2023. Learn more about the awards and how to submit your work with Nomadic Press. San Francisco Foundation does not administer the award. 

Past Awardees

Reggie Edmonds
Carolyn Ho
Rick D’Elia
Anesha Grant
Jenny Qi
Dawn Angelicca Barcelona
t. johnston

Lydia Kim
Olivia Peña

Gabrielle Corona


Josiah Luis Alderete
Mae Ramirez
Lourdes Figueroa
Alan Chazaro
Camilo Garzón
Karla Clark
Leticia Hernández-Linares
MK Chavez
Cynthia Parker-Ohene
Susana Praver-Pérez

Maya Sisneros
Lillian Giles
Dominica Phetteplace
Daniel Pearce
Zora Mai Quỳnh
Suzanne Rivecca
Devon Devine
Ngozi Oparah

Janine Kovac
Ellie Bozmarova

About Our Donor: Joseph Henry Jackson

Joseph Henry Jackson (1894-1955) moved to California after World War I and was editor of Sunset Magazine from 1926-28. From 1924-1943 he hosted the radio program “Bookman’s Guide,” and from 1930 through the remainder of his career, he served as the literary editor of the San Francisco Chronicle, where he gained national prominence. Jackson also wrote and edited over a dozen books, many concerning California history. He served on several literary boards, including the O. Henry Memorial Award, the Harper Prize Novel and the Pulitzer Prize. Jackson was always interested in discovering and encouraging new writers. In his honor, his friends established the Joseph Henry Jackson Literary Award for emerging writers in the Bay Area.